Chin chin Scots-people

A rather dull, all work and no play January, has sadly meant little wine drinking or blogging for me since the new year. Any creative fancy of mine has been zapped by evening conference calls with our friends across the pond and the lure of spending the last 30 minutes of my day watching mind numbing telly, such as recordings of Miranda (every girl deserves a little Tom Ellis pick me up after a day’s slog).

I would now like to raise a virtual glass to my neighbourly Scotsmen/ women on this eve of an England v Scotland Six Nations nail biter since a fabulous Burns’ night supper of Cullen Skink and Haggis last Friday.

Even as I packed the Chilean Carmenere to take along, I knew how foolish a match this would be. Of course, white wine was the way to go and in hindsight, I had a couple of lovely numbers that I’ve tried this month (largely due to my red wine drinking husband being on the wagon for January) that would’ve gone down a storm;

Casa Leone Chardonnay 2011, Rapel, Chile 13.5% M&S £7ish
Water white to the eye and more French and refined on the palate than the boldness that I expected of the New World, this fresh and simple Chardonnay  was a pleasant surprise. An apple nose and peachy palate complimented the subtle oak – give it a go!

False Bay Chenin Blanc 2011, Waterskloof Estate, Western Cape, South Africa 12.5% Palmers Wine Store £6.99
Having been frightened off Chenin Blanc from a young age drinking naff cheapo plonk from South Eastern Australia, I was surprised to have been drawn back to Chenin Blanc of the South African type in recent years. This particular wine has an exciting tropical nose of mango and pineapple, with a hint of bubblegum. On the palate I found it to be dry, tangy and citrus with a smooth mineral finish. Yet another great value and delicious white.

Despite mismatching the still wine hugely on the night, I did take sanctum in my ‘whisky alternative’, a Palo Cortado, £8.99 from Waitrose, a recommendation I received on Twitter from @worldsherryday (yes, there’s a World Sherry Day on 26th May – who needs an excuse???!) which I think Robbie Burns would’ve commended highly for us non-whisky drinking sassanachs  (I hear the mocking laughter of my Scottish fellows ringing in my ears at my soft English ways – to put it politely).

Come on England!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating/ Drinking In, Party Wine, Seasonal, Sherry, South Africa, South America, Spain, Wine and Food Pairing

Leave a Reply

